Choose Color :  
Bookmark and Share
Home > Cataract
Classification of Cataract


Classification of Cataract


Cataract means any opacity within the crystalline lens.





A. According to the etiology:

 I. Congenital (developmental) cataract.

II. Acquired cataract:

- Traumatic cataract.

    - Senile cataract.

    - Complicated cataract.


B. According to the consistency of lens:

I. Soft cataract: Both cortex and nucleus are soft. So that:

- The whole lens can be completely aspirated during surgical removal.

- The lens can be lensectomized using the vitrectomy machine.

- Lens matter can be aspirated spontaneously by the aqueous if the lens capsule is injured.

* It is any cataract before the age of 20 - 30 years (it can be congenital, traumatic or complicated, but never senile cataract).

II. Hard cataract: The nucleus is hard due to the normal progressive decrease of water content of the nucleus during age. The hard nucleus can not be aspirated surgically, lensectomized or dissolved by the aqueous.

* It is any cataract after the age of 20 - 30 years (it can be senile, traumatic or complicated, but never congenital).


C. According to the course of cataract:

I. Stationary as congenital cataract.

II. progressive as senile and complicated cataract.

D. According to site of opacity within the lens:

It may be:

- Nuclear.

- Anterior or posterior cortical.

- Anterior or posterior subcapsular.

- Anterior or posterior polar.






Add a comment
Name :  
Subject :  
Please fill all fields
  • More Reading:

  • UGG Scontati

  • pauschalreise buchen

  • maillot de foot pas cher

  • mutti

  • maillot de foot 2017